Lettuce & Galactic


Lettuce & Galactic

Fri · February 23, 2018

DOORS: 8:00 PM / SHOW: 9:00 PM


Click Here To Reserve Event Parking 

Lettuce & Galactic

Lettuce & Galactic is a funk band that originated in Boston, Massachusetts in 1992. Its members consist of guitarists Eric Krasno and Adam “Shmeeans” Smirnoff, Nigel Hall(keyboards, Hammond B-3 organ, piano), Adam Deitch (drums/percussion), Erick “Jesus” Coomes (bass), Ryan Zoidis (saxophone), and partial-member Rashawn Ross (trumpet). In 2011, trumpeter Eric “Benny” Bloom replaced Rashawn Ross in the band.

Ya-Ka-May was released on Feb 9, 2010 on ANTI-. The album includes guest performances by a range of New Orleans musicians. Long-established performers such as Rebirth Brass Band, Irma Thomas, Big Chief Bo Dollis of The Wild Magnolias, Allen Toussaint and Walter “Wolfman” Washington are represented, along with younger performers in the traditional vein, such as Trombone Shorty and Corey Henry, John Boutté, Josh Cohen and Ryan Scully of Morning 40 Federation, and Glen David Andrews, and also Bounce artists Cheeky Blakk, Big Freedia, Katey Red, and Sissy Nobby.

Galactic released a live album in May 2011 titled The Other Side of Midnight: Live in New Orleans.This album includes live versions of many songs on Ya-Ka-May.

On February 21, 2012, Galactic released a new studio album titled Carnivale Electricos which focused on the theme of Carnivale. They invited artists from New Orleans to flesh out the diversity of the town’s music in a virtual Fat Tuesday strut across town: the battle chant of Mardi Gras Indian War Chief Juan Pardo and the Golden Comanches; the voice of Mystikal; and the 40-piece Kipp Renaissance High School marching band. For “Voyage Ton Flag” they sampled the late accordionist Clifton Chenier and Carnival-rock number “Hey Na Na (Hey Na)” with David Shaw of New Orleans’s Revivalists. Brazil is represented by samba poet Moyseis Marques on “O Coco da Galinha” and by Casa Samba, who retake the forro “Magalenha…”

On July 17, 2015, Galactic released a new studio album titled Into the Deep. It featured Macy Gray, J.J. Grey, David Shaw, Maggie Koerner, and Mavis Staples amongst others.

Information Courtesy of JAM Productions

Leave a Reply